Ball of Fire Award

The Alan Ball ‘Ball of Fire’ Award. What Alan Ball lacked in height he more than made up for in skill, determination and stamina. This boundless energy and drive helped Everton become the best team in the league in 1970, and gloriously in 1966, England the best team in the world.

The aim is to honour somebody recognised within a community as having outstanding qualities.

Someone who set goals and strove to achieve them. Someone who was steadfast and loyal.

Someone who cared for others and was loved in return. Someone for whom nothing was too much trouble.

Someone who appreciated the value of working hard. Someone who could be called a friend by all who knew him.

Jimmy Ball has kindly supported the award.

Corinthian Award

The Brian Labone ‘Corinthian’ Award. Founded in 1882, the Corinthians were a force to be reckoned with, although an amateur team, they regularly overcame the National Champions of the countries they visited.

Following one such tour, an opponent was so impressed by them after a match as to recall

‘I remember how they walked on to the field, spotless in their white shirts and dark shorts. Yet there was about them an air of casual grandeur, a haughtiness that was not haughty, which seemed intangible. And how they played!’

It was not only their skill that marked the Corinthians out from the rest however. They also exhibited an inherent sense of sportsmanship and fair play. Brian Labone embodied these Corinthian values. It is therefore, in his memory, that we are proud to present the Brian Labone ‘Corinthian’ Award to a person who, through their own efforts and example, can be seen as a role model for their community.


Howard Kendall Achievement Award

I knew Howard for many years and watched him play in midfield as one of the Holy Trinity in that fabulous Everton side that were First Division Champions in 1969/70. He then went on to build a great side of his own in the mid 1980s and had more success in winning two First Division titles, the FA Cup and the European Cup Winners Cup plus four Charity Shields.

Myself and Health Through Sport always appreciated Howards help and support down the years and we wanted to commemorate his name with an achievement award. We are therefore delighted to announce the ‘Howard Kendall Achievement’ award.

This will be awarded annually to someone who has helped in the community and made an impact on peoples lives.

Lily Kendall, who is a patron of our charity, has kindly given her full support to this prestigious award.

Gone but not forgotten

Previous Winners of the Awards

Brian Labone ‘Corinthian‘ Award  Previous Winners

Dave Hickson

Reverend Harry Ross (pictured below)

Richie Rooney

Tom Hutchinson

The Royal Liverpool University Hospital – Colorectal Unit

George McKane

Ken Rogers (pictured below with Pat Labone presenting the award)

Dave Kelly

Darryl Laycock

Alan Ball ‘Ball of Fire‘ Award Previous Winners

Rhys Jones (Stephen Jones the father of Rhys picture below with Ronny Goodlass)

Sandra Rothwell

Jeanette Stockton

Kurtis Bourke

Clatterbridge Cancer Hospital – Radiotherapy Unit – Wirral

Liam King

David Fehily

The Irish Toffees

Fans Supporting Foodbanks

Rob Daniels

Howard Kendall Achievement Award Previous Winners

Previous winners include – Ronny Goodlass, Joe Anderson, Mayor of Liverpool and Tony Sage (pictured below)

Tony Sage pictured with Lily Kendall
Lily Kendall presenting Ronny Goodlass with the first Howard Kendall Achievement award